New Jersey State Library

New Jersey State Library

Library Development Bureau
   
Home :: LDB :: Databases ::

 

Statewide Databases

New Jersey’s Statewide Databases are helping to ensure equity of services for all residents of New Jersey.

Through the support of statewide services such as JerseyCat, JerseyClicks .org, QandANJ.org and the New Jersey Knowledge Initiative, the State Library helps to ensure that all NJ libraries can offer their residents essential 24/7 services. Thanks to these services, our NJ residents have access to millions of full text articles; live reference help 24 hours a day from librarians via the Internet; and the combined borrowing power of over 800 libraries.

NEW! Technical Support:
EBSCO Call 1-877-327-2622
HeritageQuest Online Call 1-800-889-3358
GALE: 1-800-877-4253 (Option 4)
FY 08 Statewide Databases

NEW!  URL’s for Full-Text Databases

Cost of Data Base to Public Libraries

Are you curious to know what your library would have to pay if it had to pay for all these online resources from your budget? This file outlines the Total Cost of Databases to Individual Libraries - (Excel) (PDF)

JerseyCat

JerseyCat is New Jersey's statewide virtual catalog and interlibrary loan system. It is provided to all libraries within the State of New Jersey by the New Jersey State Library and the Regional Library Cooperatives. There is no charge to the local library for the service. It provides all New Jersey residents and library staff with real-time searching capabilities for New Jersey's Z39.50 compliant library catalogs. It also includes a union catalog of holdings from the small to medium libraries that are under 100,00 volumes. Periodical titles can be searched for in the NJ Union List of Serials. It also provides New Jersey residents and library staff with an interlibrary loan system that they can use from their home, school, or office via the World Wide Web. More

JerseyClicks

JerseyClicks is New Jersey's statewide portal that features federated searching of the suite of statewide full-text databases. Federated searching allows you to search more than one database at a time.  If you want to search just one database you can click on the title of the database to go to the EBSCO, GALE, or Proquest search interface.  The choice is yours!

New Jersey Knowledge Initiative

NJKI is designed to spur economic growth, maintain and cultivate N.J.’s highly skilled workforce, and strengthen high-tech initiatives by providing free, unlimited and convenient access to high-end, proprietary resources in the fields of science, medicine, technology and business. This is information not available for free on the Internet or at bookstores. NJKI connects entrepreneurs, small businesses, researchers and students to millions of top science and technology journal articles and key business information. The $6 million, state-funded program was the first of its kind in the nation. Without funding from the NJ Legislature, this initiative will end as of July 2007. More about NJKI and your libraryTotal Cost of Databases to Individual Libraries

Full –Text Databases by Subject Area

Basic Research

EBSCO MasterFILE Premier

MasterFILE Premier, designed specifically for public libraries, provides full text for more than 1,950 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and much more. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,600 titles. This database features: 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews, 320 reference and travel books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts 2001; full text from 91,600 biographies, 75,000 full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags. MasterFILE Premier offers PDF backfiles as far back as 1975 for key publications including American Libraries, Foreign Affairs, History Today, Judaism, Library Journal, National Review and Natural History.

EBSCO Magazine Article Summaries: Online

MAS Online is a comprehensive full text general reference database designed for high school and junior college libraries. This database includes: searchable full text of articles, reports and special issues from nearly 200 of the most wanted K-12 magazines; searchable full text for The Christian Science Monitor, winner of the 1996 Pulitzer Prize for International Reporting; over 3,000 charts, tables and graphs converted to ASCII text to provide students with a complete understanding of the original printed articles; Essential Documents of American History—a database of over 1,000 original historical documents including The Bill of Rights, The Constitution, The Federalist Papers and the speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.; coverage of the CIA World Factbook; coverage of the Department of Education's College Guide; searchable full text for 400 pamphlets; searchable full text for nearly 5,000 Magill's Book Reviews.

Biography

EBSCO Biography Collection Complete™

Biography Collection Complete™ offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies supporting history, science, the arts, music, literature, multicultural studies, gender studies, business, government & politics, sports, entertainment and many other areas. This database features more than 177,000 full-text biographies from many different sources.

Current Events

Points of View Reference Center™

Points of View Reference Center™ is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Topics covered include: affirmative action, cloning, DNA profiling, HIV/AIDS status disclosure, immigration, Iraq, Israel & the Palestinians, Katrina and FEMA response, nuclear proliferation, separation of church and state, standardized testing, stem cell research, tax cuts, voting machines, and many more. Points of View Reference Center contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including 600 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments and writing position papers. Points of View Reference Center provides the basis from which students can realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

Espanol

Informe

Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.

Created exclusively for Spanish-speaking users, this full-text electronic reference tool is the first system to provide indexing, images and full text of popular Hispanic magazines -- not just translations. Also included is a thesaurus and interface that are uniquely designed for Spanish-speaking users. ¡Informe! thinks through every query in Spanish. Terms and thesaurus are based on the expressions Spanish-speakers commonly use, allowing users to easily navigate through the database without experiencing inaccurate search terms. ¡Informe! also features title annotations in both English and Spanish to help non-Spanish speaking staff to easily assist users. Students of Spanish, as well as non-native speakers can also easily access ¡Informe!'s resources through this bilingual approach.

Salud en Español

Salud en Español provides comprehensive evidence-based reports and fact sheets in Spanish on all aspects of consumer health and wellness. Topic specific reports covering all aspects of health offer valuable overviews on diseases, conditions, procedures and various treatments. The content found in this database includes a diverse collection of health related themes: first aid, infant/ child care and illnesses, alternative medicine, aging and wellness.

Health

Health Source®: Consumer Edition

This is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide. This resource provides access to more than 130 full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, HealthFacts, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others. This database also includes searchable full text for current, health-related pamphlets and 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish); Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to 1,100 drug monograph entries and 2,700 patient education fact sheets; and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Health Source®: Consumer Edition covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc.

Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.

History

History Reference Center®

History Reference Center® is the world's most comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. The database features full text for more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers, such as: Branden Publishing, Compass Point Books, Houghton Mifflin, Lerner Publishing Group, Mason Crest Publishers, Morgan Reynolds Inc., Oliver Press, Oxford University Press, Rourke Publishing LLC., Salem Press, Stackpole Books, Toucan Valley Publications, and more. The database also includes full text for more than 120 leading history periodicals including America's Civil War, American Heritage, American Historical Review, American History, Archaeology, Aviation History, Beaver, British Heritage, Chinese America: History & Perspectives, Civil War Times, Foreign Affairs, German History, History, History Review, History Today (back to January 1975), History: Review of New Books, Kansas History, Journal of American History, Manitoba History, Military History, Naval History, North Carolina Historical Review, Virginia Magazine of History & Biography, Wild West, World War II and more. Further, the database contains 59,640 historical documents; more than 50,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 110,200 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Literature

Literary Reference Center™

Literary Reference Center™ is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It has been specifically designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. Literary Reference Center is a full text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center contains full text for 26,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism, 140,500 author biographies (including 14,300 in-depth bios), 350 literary journals, 530,000 book reviews, 50,000 classic and contemporary poems, 13,500 classic and contemporary short stories, 4,000 author interviews, 7,500 classic texts and much more. In addition, Literary Reference Center also includes Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature, The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, Beacham's Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes), The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature, The Literary Encyclopedia, The Columbia Companion to the 20th Century American Short Story, all of MagillOnLiterature Plus™, and much more.

Newspapers

Info Trac Custom Newspapers

Get the scoop with an innovative Web-based, full-text ASCII-formatted newspaper database that lets you electronically search articles by title, headline, date, author, section or other assigned fields Philadelphia Inquirer-NY Times-Bergen Record-Washington Post.

Newspaper Source

Newspaper Source™ provides cover-to-cover full text for 28 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 260 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from ABC, CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

Science

Science Reference Center™

Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student's science research needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.

FIND A BOOK

NoveList

Besides locating books to read, users can learn more about books and authors through Author Read-alikes, Feature Articles, Book Discussion Guides, and BookTalks. These features have been developed specifically with NoveList users in mind, offering support for librarians, teachers, and individual readers. The For Staff Only sections provide additional support for readers' advisory and school curricula. Hypertext links from title records allow the user to go directly to articles or guides that mention the title, as well as to the lists in Explore Fiction or Best Fiction where the titles appear.
NoveList contains materials for all ages including picture books, children's "chapter" books, young adult titles and books for adult readers. Updated monthly, the NoveList database integrates information from a variety of sources. The Hennepin County Library is the main source of the enhanced subject access contained in the NoveList database. NoveList contains full-text reviews for adult, young adult, children's and easy fiction titles from several journals, including: Booklist, School Library Journal, Library Journal and Publishers Weekly. In addition to these reviews, there are annotations and summaries, and all of them are searchable! NoveList adds about 10,000 new fiction records to the database per year, along with reviews and descriptions when they are available. The theme-oriented book lists in Explore Fiction are periodically revised, and the awards lists in Best Fiction are updated along with the full database each month. New Author Read-alikes, Feature Articles, Book Discussion Guides, and BookTalks are also added monthly.

 

 

 

   
  Comments and questions to: Webmaster
  Page last updated on: October 16, 2008
   
Click Here for Advanced Search Click Here for Search Tips