N.J. Constitutional Convention: Vol. 4, Page 691


To the Association:

The President of the Association, having appointed a Committee consisting of John Henry Reiners, Jr., Chairman, Hon. Thomas M. Madden, Hon. Bartholomew Sheehan, W. Louis Bossle, Walter S. Keown, Howard R. Yocum, John A. Riggins, Bernhard G. Luethy, Leon A. Wingate, Jr., and Weidner Titzck, the latter being Secretary of the Committee; and the said Committee having met on June 10th, 24th and 26th, 1947, and having broken up into three sub-committees to consider the law court, chancery court and appellate court problems, and the entire Committee having carefully discussed the sub-committees' suggestions, and circularizing members of the Camden County Bar Association for individual members' suggestions, of which five were received at this writing.

Now Therefore, the entire Committee hereby presents the following recommendations for consideration and approval of the Camden County Bar Association as a whole before submission to the Judiciary Committee of the New Jersey Constitutional Convention.

Each member of the Committee took an active part in the discussion of the various recommendations, and the suggestions in support thereof, but suffice it to say that with the exception of one or two minor instances, there was unanimity of opinion among the Committee members.


  • 1. That the Justices of the Peace as now constituted under Article VI, Section VIII of the Constitution, be abolished.  
  • 2. That there should be set up in each County a court similar to our present Common Pleas Court, with original law and criminal jurisdiction, and the president judge in each County shall have jurisdiction to issue prerogative writs. There should be at least one judge in each County, and as many judges as are required to take care of the original criminal and law jurisdiction with a plan for service of process in a County other than the County in which it is filed, whether it be handled by a State-wide court administration, or by some procedure for serving process purely under County reciprocity.  
  • 3. That the present system of approximately sixteen Circuit Court judges be abolished in view of the fact that their jurisdiction and duties will be taken over by the one or more County courts previously referred to.  
  • 4. That the Court of Chancery as it is now constituted, including     

Previous Page in Book ********* Table of Contents *********** Next Page in Book