990 Finder
A database of private foundation tax returns (Form 990-PF). Search by foundation name, location, or employer identification number.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: free
Databases
Visitors to the library have access to a wide variety of electronic databases; however, remote access to subscription databases is restricted to State Library authorized users: state employees and, unless otherwise noted, Thomas Edison staff and students. Authorized users needing a State Library access card, should complete the appropriate online registration form.
New Jersey residents should use JerseyClicks to access databases licensed for statewide use.
Transmission or reproduction of items beyond that permitted by fair use requires the permission of the copyright owners. It is the user's responsibility to determine and comply with all restrictions based upon the intended use of the materials. All users are expected to respect the intellectual property rights of licensed material. Failure to do so will result in loss of access.
You can browse through our databases below, or use the following menus to narrow your search:
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
Search national and international business sources from ProQuest, including
- Full text of the Wall Street Journal, Sloan Management Review, The Economist, Financial Times, and Australian Financial Review
- 45,000+ business-related dissertations, 10,000+ business cases and case studies, 50 million+ U.S. company records
- 450,000+ working papers from The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER), Research Papers in Economics (RePEc), INSEAD, and The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
- Expert analyses of industries, countries, economies, and markets
- Downloadable variables and key indicators of actual and forecasted economic data from the Economist Intelligence Unit
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: state employees
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Find articles from 6,5000+ full-text scholarly journals and magazines. Includes peer-reviewed STEM, social sciences, humanities, law, sciences, and video content from the Associated Press, 1930-present.
Academic Search is also available to New Jersey residents via JerseyClicks.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: authorized users
Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection (ProQuest)
Find professional and academic journal articles and news stories covering the trends and history influencing accounting, tax, banking, and financial issues.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: state employees
AGRICOLA
A bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature. Created by the National Agricultural Library, the database covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the 15th century.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: free
AGRIS
Indexes and abstracts world literature covering all aspects of agricultural sciences and technology, including grey literature. Many with links to full-text articles. Coverage from 1975 to date. Published by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: free
Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO)
Full text articles from peer-reviewed and professional journals, focusing on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: authorized users
America: History and Life (EBSCO)
Use America: History and Life with Full Text to find journal articles on the history, society, and culture of the United States and Canada, selected from over 1,200 peer-reviewed national and international journals.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: authorized users
Ancestry Library Edition
Ancestry Library Edition offers a wide range of materials for those interested in genealogy and history. Categories include the census; vital and church records; military records; court, land and probate records; passenger lists and much more.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: no
Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest)
Features hundreds of titles covering art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, literature, theater and cultural studies.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: state employees
ASSIST Online
The official source for specifications and standards used by the Department of Defense. Many documents are available in full text.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: free
Association of Religion Data Archives
Association of Religion Data Archives compiles quantitative data on religion from U.S. and international research institutions and scholars. The ARDA collection includes statistics on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups (individuals, congregations and denominations). ARDA is based in the Department of Sociology at Penn State.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: free
Biography Reference Bank (EBSCO)
Provides in-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography, World Authors and Junior Authors & Illustrators series, plus biographical full text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals—providing the most current coverage of an individual’s life and work.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: authorized users
Biology Database (ProQuest)
Provides access to a wide range of biology topics for users in academic, government and public research environments. Coverage: 1998-current.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: state employees
BioOne Complete
Provides full text of high-impact bioscience research journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. Most of BioOne’s titles are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Mobile access is available. See Mobile Resources for more information.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: authorized users
Book of the States
Reference work detailing useful comparative statistical information on all states, commonwealths and territories of the United States. Covers demographics, elections, finance, policy, branches of government, administration, and the texts of state constitutions. Includes downloadable statistics and charts. Published by the Council of State Governments.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: free
Boundless eBooks
New Jersey’s statewide eBook database contains 900 fiction titles for children, YA and adults.
Remote access is available to State employees and Thomas Edison State University staff and students using this link. New Jersey library card holders can access Boundless (formerly Axis360) with their local public library card.
On-site Access: authorized users
Remote Access: authorized users
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Find full text and citations for journals covering a variety of business disciplines, including accounting, finance, economics, marketing, management, management information systems, and operations management. Includes Regional Business News and Associated Press video content.
Business Source is also available to New Jersey residents via JerseyClicks.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: authorized users
Career & Technical Education Database (ProQuest)
ProQuest Career & Technical Education is the definitive source for vocational information. The database includes nearly 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text for quick access to research on virtually any technical topic.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: state employees
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
This GPO catalog indexes print and electronic government information products created by Federal agencies since 1994.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: free
CCH AnswerConnect
Provides current federal and state tax law information, as well as news on emerging tax issues.
After login, click the blue, upper right “Subscribers: Log In Here” button to complete sign in process.
See Wolters Kluwer Legal Research (VitalLaw) for other practice areas.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: state employees
Child Welfare Information Gateway
An extensive collection of documents related to protecting children and strengthening families. Searchable by author, title and keyword.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: free
CINAHL Complete – Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature
One of the worlds most comprehensive sources of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing indexing for more than 5,400 journals and full text for over 1,300 journals. It also includes evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, research instrument records and quick lessons with overviews of diseases and conditions. CINAHL Complete is a definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. For an introduction to using CINAHL, view an archived webinar or a short tutorial.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: authorized users
Civil Engineering Database
An index to all of the American Society of Civil Engineers publications from 1973 to the present.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: free
Code of Federal Regulations
The codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: free
Computing Database (ProQuest)
This database provides access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics, most of them in full text. Coverage: 1998-current.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: state employees
Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official source for federal legislative information and includes bills, laws, committee information, committee reports, the Congressional Record, roll call votes and profiles of members of Congress.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: free
Congressional Directory
A directory of congressmen, congressional committees, and congressional agencies, also includes executive agencies.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: free
Contemporary Authors Online (Gale)
Provides biographic and bibliographic details on 120,000 novelists, playwrights, poets, journalists, nonfiction writers and scriptwriters. Coverage of 20th and 21st century authors.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: authorized users
Corfacts Online
New Jersey’s premier business to business directory, Corfacts offers unlimited downloads of company data. Locate company records using a number of different criteria, including location, revenue, number of employees, BJB and SIC codes, and description keywords. Corfacts is also available in print.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: authorized users
CQ Congress Collection
Provides historical analysis of members of Congress, their voting behavior, interest groups, and public policy. Includes information on institutional and organizational history, the legislative process, and public policy decision-making.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: authorized users
CQ Magazine
Non-partisan legislative news and analysis from the largest news organization on Capitol Hill, publishing comprehensive coverage of Congress. New issues published weekly.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: authorized users
CQ Press Electronic Library
Search across all four CQ Press subscriptions: Congress Collection, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Magazine, and Voting and Elections Collection.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: authorized users
CQ Researcher
Provides in-depth analysis of the most current and controversial issues of the day.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: authorized users
CQ Voting and Elections Collection
Provides authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a powerful research tool on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: authorized users
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest)
Indexes over 460 U.S. and international criminal justice journals and includes full text for over 185 titles. Coverage back to 1981.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: state employees
CRS Reports
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) provides accurate, non-partisan policy and legal analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: free
Data.Census.Gov
Find population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas. Includes data from the American Community Survey, the Economic Census, and the decennial censuses. Published by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Former name: American FactFinder
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: free
Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs
Produced by the U.S. Department of Educations Office of Postsecondary Education, this database contains programs that are, or were, “accredited by an accrediting agency or state approval agency recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education as a ‘reliable authority as to the quality of postsecondary education.’
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: free
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database (ProQuest)
Search full-text scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications on all aspects of earth, atmospheric, and aquatic sciences, including atmosphere dynamics, aquaculture, forecasting, conservation, climatology, geophysics, meteorology, paleontology, seismology. Encompasses major environmental science indexes such as Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA), and Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) which provides extensive coverage of global scholarship on marine, brackish water, and freshwater fisheries and environments. Part of ProQuest Central.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: State employees
EBSCO eBooks
NJSL’s collection of over 15,000 eBooks on a range of mostly non-fiction topics. All works are full-text searchable. Read online or download PDF and ePub formats to your device.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: authorized users
EBSCOhost
A collection of databases including: Academic Search Premier, Masterfile Premier, Health Source, Business Source Premier, Newspaper Source and many others. Provides indexing, abstracting and many full text articles. Also available in three foreign language interfaces: French, German and Spanish.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: authorized users
EDGAR
The Securities and Exchange Commission’s EDGAR database provides free public access to corporate information, allowing you to quickly research a company’s financial information and operations by reviewing registration statements, prospectuses and periodic reports filed on Forms 10-K and 10-Q. You also can find information about recent corporate events reported on Form 8-K.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: free
Education Database (ProQuest)
Provides access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database. Coverage: 1988-current.
On-site Access: yes
Remote Access: state employees
