Databases

Use America: History and Life with Full Text to find journal articles on the history, society, and culture of the United States and Canada, selected from over 1,200 peer-reviewed national and international journals.

Ancestry Library Edition offers a wide range of materials for those interested in genealogy and history. Categories include the census; vital and church records; military records; court, land and probate records; passenger lists and much more.

Provides in-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography, World Authors and Junior Authors & Illustrators series, plus biographical full text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals—providing the most current coverage of an individual’s life and work.

A searchable archive of over 22 million passengers and crew that passed through Ellis Island between 1892 and 1924.

FamilySearch provides access to millions of index entries and document images for genealogy records from around the world, including many New Jersey birth, marriage and death records. Create a free account to access.

Find primary sources for genealogical and historical research. Besides federal census records, search Freedman’s Bank records (1865-1874), the U.S. Serials Set (1789-1969), and over 25,000 genealogy and local history books. Its content is similar, but unlike Ancestry can be accessed remotely.

Search, browse, and download the full text of select histories, magazines, and newspapers. Works are in the public domain, but unlike free copies, all text is accurately transcribed and searchable.

American County Histories includes public domain histories of New Jersey and other states, useful for researching local history, genealogy, public officials, data, and roadworks.

Also available: African American Newspapers (1827-1919), Abolitionist newspapers, Women’s Suffrage newspapers, World War I: American Military Camp Newspapers (1916-1923), Frank Leslie’s Weekly (1855-1922), American Inventor (1878-1887), Godey’s Lady’s Book (1830-1898), The Pennsylvania Gazette (1728–1800), The Virginia Gazette (1736-1780), South Carolina Newspapers (1732-1780). Topics: Anatomy of Protest in America (1701-1928), The Civil War Collection (1855-1869), and Quarantine and Disease Control in America (1736-1928).

Former name: Accessible Archives

The New Jersey State Archives provides access to thirteen databases containing over one million entries (indexing names and other information) in nearly 500,000 documents and photographs in the State Archives’ collections. Includes index entries for many marriage records, death records and military records.

Find articles from the New York Times, 1851-2018. You can search the full text or read the newspaper as it appeared in print, including all photographs, advertisements, and obituaries.