Tag Archives: databases

NJSL’s Funding Information Center

Bulletin board in the Funding Information Center collection at the New Jersey State Library.
The Funding Information Center collection at the New Jersey State Library.

What is the Funding Information Center?

The New Jersey State Library’s Funding Information Center provides free training and resources for individuals and nonprofits looking for grant funding.   We have been a Funding Information Network partner with Candid (formerly The Foundation Center) since 1974.  Through this partnership, we provide onsite access to Candid’s grant research databases.

 

 

 

 

What resources and training are available through the Funding Information Center?

Electronic Resources

Computer showing the Foundation Directory Online Professional database
Research computer showing the Foundation Directory Online Professional database.

NJSL’s Funding Information Center provides free, onsite access to two of Candid’s grant research databases:

Foundation Directory Online Professional:  Provides detailed information on over 165,000 U.S. foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities, with links to current foundation 990-PF tax returns. Users can search using multiple criteria, such as area of interest and geographic focus, to find grantmakers likely to fund their nonprofit organization.  Onsite access only.

Grants to Individuals:  Provides detailed descriptions of over 10,000 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers. Onsite access only.

In addition to these databases, we also have several research guides to help users find information about grants, scholarships, and nonprofit management.  The research guides can be access online from any computer.

 

Print Resources and Periodicals

Books and periodicals in the Funding Information Center collection at the New Jersey State Library.
Books and periodicals available in the Funding Information Center collection.

The Funding Information Center has over 1,200 print resources related to various funding and nonprofit topics.  Most of these print resources can be borrowed using your NJSL library card.  Materials can also be requested through interlibrary loan at your local public library.  Browse the collection using NJSL’s online catalog.

Additionally, we subscribe to a selection of nonprofit and philanthropy related periodicals, including:

  • Advancing Philanthropy
  • The Chronicle of Philanthropy
  • The NonProfit Times

 

Training

Librarian teaching an Introduction to Finding Grants class in the New Jersey State Library's Training Lab.
Training on how to use the Foundation Directory Online database to find grants.

We offer regular group classes on how to use NJSL’s Funding Information Center resources to research grant funding.  We also have outside speakers present on topics related to nonprofit management, including grant writing, fundraising, social media marketing, event planning and more.  For more information about our latest programs, visit www.njstatelib.org/events.

 

 

In addition to our group classes, we offer one-on-one tutorials on how to use the Foundation Directory Online Professional and Grants to Individuals databases.  Tutorial sessions are scheduled in advance and generally run 30 minutes to an hour, depending on your research needs.  If you are interested in scheduling a tutorial, please contact Leigh Clark, Business & Funding Information Librarian, at lclark@njstatelib.org or 609-278-2640 ext. 158.

 

What is Candid?

For those familiar with NJSL’s Funding Information Center or the Funding Information Network, the name Candid may be new.  Last year, The Foundation Center and GuideStar merged to form the nonprofit organization, Candid.  For more information on the merger and Candid, visit https://candid.org/about.

How will this merger affect NJSL’s Funding Information Center?

On the whole, the services provided by NJSL’s Funding Information Center and other Funding Information Network partners will remain relatively the same.  Any future changes or updates will be reflected on the Funding Information Center’s collection website at https://www.njstatelib.org/fundinginfo.

 

AncestryLibrary Edition Workshop – Registration Full

PLEASE NOTE:  WE HAVE REACHED OUR REGISTRATION LIMIT. 

This hands-on session is designed to introduce you to AncestryLibrary edition, which is available for free at the New Jersey State Library.   Although AncestryLibrary contains much of the same information as Ancestry.com, there are several key differences, which exclude Family trees, The Member Directory, Ancestry Message Boards, AncestryDNA®, and the following record collections: Historical Newspaper Collection, Family and Local History Collection, Obituary Collection, Passenger and Immigration Lists Index, Biography Genealogy Master Index,Freedman’s Bank Records.  Elana Broch will help users become familiar with AncestryLibrary by focusing on the U.S. Federal and NJ State census records as well as immigration records.  We encourage you to bring you own research topics so that Elana and our staff can assist you in your research.

Elana Broch is an amateur genealogist who has spent much of her research efforts trying to find out about her grandfather, Saul Lichtman, a 1941 Holocaust victim. She is a research librarian at Princeton University.

Start, Manage, and Grow your Business with ReferenceUSA

Join us to hear Thomas Pridell from InfoGroup discuss how ReferenceUSA logoReferenceUSA can help you target new customers, research competitors, and gain competitive advantage by leveraging targeted information to cultivate your business growth.  Catered to the business community, this program teaches business owners how to identify their vertical market & generate sales leads based on what community is most likely to buy their products and services.  Other concepts are taught through the database like competitive analysis, market research, and varying outreach methods to attract new customers.

ReferenceUSA is a one-stop resource for all things business.  ReferenceUSA’s collection of 10 databases include: U.S. Businesses, U.S. New Businesses, U.S. Historical Businesses, U.S. Jobs/Internships, U.S. New Movers/Homeowners, U.S. Healthcare, U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles, U.S. Standard White Pages, Canadian Businesses and Canadian White Pages.

ReferenceUSA is available to all New Jersey residents through JerseyClicks and your public library.

 

ReferenceUSA Program Recap

ReferenceUSA logo

Thank you to Bill Loges from ReferenceUSA for showcasing many of the features available through ReferenceUSA aimed at people starting or trying to grow their own business.

The U.S. Business database allows you to search for businesses by a host of different parameters, including business types, geography, and business size among others.  A great feature to help pinpoint marketing opportunities or help in market research for a certain industry is the Map Based Search, where you can get immediate business listings based on radius from a central location, along a certain route, or through free-drawn boundaries.

The U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles database allows you to search for potential customers through a variety of parameters, including geography and lifestyle attributes.

Results from both the Business and Customer databases can be viewed and downloaded for free; however, if you would like to narrow down results in the Customer database by Consumer Snapshot limits, such as age, gender, income, etc., you will need to pay for that data.

For more information about the power of ReferenceUSA, please visit their Learning Center for videos, webinars, and learning guides at http://resource.referenceusa.com/learning-center/?domain=www.referenceusa.com&accountId=3635.

Useful New Jersey Genealogy Electronic Resources at the New Jersey State Library

Thank you all who were able to attend yesterday’s Useful New Jersey Genealogy Electronic Resources class!  I had a great time showing you how to find resources on the State Library website and highlighting some research strategies in Ancestry and Family Search.  Remember, most of the resources we looked at are completely accessible to you from home or your office.  In our discussion, we reviewed:

  1. How to access and search the State Library’s catalog.
  2. How to access and search the City Directory catalog (pdf file, use CTRL+F to search the document)
  3. How to find the State Library’s Genealogy Databases
  4. Using the “New Collections” function in Ancestry to sharpen your search results. (The State Library’s Ancestry subscription is only available for in-house use.)
  5. Using the “Catalog” function on Family Search to sharpen your search results
  6. Reviewing the Newspapers Research Guide, where the State Library’s complete newspaper holdings are listed.
  7. Reviewing the Genealogy Research Guide, which includes overviews of the State Library’s collections, the State Archives’ collections, and County Offices’ holdings, plus guides and handouts.

I’ve posted the handout distributed during class on the Genealogy Research Guide for anyone interested.  Look for additional Genealogy classes as part of the Lunchtime Learning series starting this autumn. Have a wonderful summer, everyone!